Jordi Cabana
Assistant Professor, Chemistry
University of Illinois at Chicago

Supporting Director
George Crabtree
Distinguished Professor, Physics and Electrical & Mechanical Engineering
University of Illinois at Chicago
Director, Joint Center for Energy Storage Research (JCESR)
Argonne National Laboratory

Organizing Committee

The Organizing Committee will review the program for NGenE each year, according to the following evaluation criteria. The balance between theory, simulation and experiment and between phenomena and materials. The focus of Student Research Projects on next generation electrochemistry challenges. The theme of the program, which may focus, for example, on the next generation challenges for specific applications, such as artificial photosynthesis, catalysis, batteries or solar cells (among others).

Nenad Markovic, JCESR, Argonne National Laboratory
Andrew Gewirth, JCESR, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Sossina Haile, Northwestern University
Deyang Qu, University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee
Lynn Trahey, Argonne National Laboratory
Henry White, University of Utah
Elizabeth Kocs, University of Illinois at Chicago
Thomas Alaan, University of Illinois at Chicago

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board will provide high-level, intellectual and monetary support of the program for NGenE, advise the Organizing Committee on future program perspectives, and provide guidance for  advancing the NGenE program nationally and internationally.

Executive Vice President for Research
University of Chicago

Prof. Peter Littlewood
Argonne National Laboratory

Dr. David Ginley
Research Fellow/Group Manager
National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)

Dr. Venkat Srinivasan
Director, Collaborative Center for Energy Storage Science (ACCESS)
Deputy Director, Research and Development, JCESR 

Argonne National Laboratory

Prof. Linda Nazar
University of Waterloo

Prof. Daniel Scherson
Frank Hovorka Professor
Director, Ernest B. Yeager Center for Electrochemical Sciences
Case Western Reserve University

Prof. Luke Hanley

Professor, Head, Department of Chemistry 
University of Illinois at Chicago

Prof. Reginald Penner

Professor, Chairman,Department of Chemistry 
University of California at Irvine


ACS Nano

Dr. Michael Andrew
Johnson Controls Inc.Dr. Said Al-Hallaj
All Cell Technologies LLC
Adjunct Professor
University of Illinois at Chicago)

Dr. Frances Ross

Nanoscale Materials Analysis Department, Thomas J. Watson Research Center
Dr. Christina Bock

Senior Research Scientist

National Research Council (Canada)